Watch the Marvel Cinematic Universe in the correct order!

April 7th, 2020   admin   Movies Tags: , , ,

Everyone has been binge-watching movies during their quarantine. Some folks have been watching all new movies while others have been re-watching their favorites. If you are like me, you went straight for the Marvel Cinematic Universe (MCU). The MCU is a cinematic and fictional universe based on the Marvel Comics. The universe has about 25 movies and all are connected. Classics like Iron Man, The Avengers, and Guardians of the Galaxy are all a part of the MCU. I am a Marvel Geek and have seen every movie multiple times and have come to the conclusion that there is only one way to watch all the movies.

While the MCU movies have not been released in the right chronological order, they are all connected. With the right guidance, one can easily figure out the correct order of the films. I re-watched all the movies in the order of the storyline, so while there are prequels and sequels, they are all released at various times. For example, the first MCU movie ever released was Iron Man in 2008, but the first movie in terms of storyline is Captain America: The First Avenger, which takes place during World War II.  Captain America was the third MCU movie to be released, but the first in terms of storyline. When watching the movies in the right order, it is much easier to follow the timelines of each character. Here is the correct order to watch the MCU in terms of storyline:

  • Captain America: The First Avenger (takes place during WWII)
  • Captain Marvel (takes place in 1995)
  • Iron Man (takes place in 2010)
  • Iron Man 2 (takes place after Iron Man)
  • The Incredible Hulk (pre-Avengers)
  • Thor (takes place exactly six months before Avengers)
  • The Avengers (takes place in 2012)
  • Iron Man 3 (takes place six months after The Avengers)
  • Thor: Dark World (post-Avengers, pre-Ultron)
  • Captain America: Winter Soldier (post-Avengers, pre-Ultron)
  • Guardians of the Galaxy (sometime in 2014)
  • Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2 (after Guardians)
  • Avengers: Age of Ultron (takes place in 2015)
  • Ant-Man (takes place in 2015)
  • Captain America: Civil War (post-Ultron, pre-Infinity War)
  • Spider-Man: Homecoming (post-Civil War, pre-Infinity War)
  • Doctor Strange (takes place in 2016)
  • Black Panther (takes place in 2017)
  • Thor: Ragnarok (post-Ultron, pre-Infinity War)
  • Avengers: Infinity War (takes place in 2017)
  • Ant-Man and The Wasp (ambiguous, but fits nicely between Infinity War and Endgame)
  • Avengers: Endgame (starts in 2017, finishes in 2022)
  • Spider-Man: Far From Home (post-Endgame)


By: Aman Jain

Written by admin


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *