• Home
  • Movies
  • Marvel retroactively adds its Netflix shows into the MCU canon

Marvel retroactively adds its Netflix shows into the MCU canon

Marvel has finally canonized its six highly popular Netflix shows into the official Marvel Cinematic Universe Disney+ timeline. 

Initially spotted by X/Twitter user CanWeGetToast, listings on Disney+ revealed that the Netflix Marvel shows now take place in Phase 3. Daredevil and Jessica Jones are set between I Am Groot and Avengers: Age of Ultron while Luke Cage, Iron Fist, and The Defenders are set between Ant-Man, and Captain America: Civil War. Lastly, The Punisher is set after Spiderman: Homecoming.

Since the acquisition of Marvel by Disney, speculation rose on the future of Marvel’s projects on Netflix.

The six shows including Daredevil, Jessica Jones, Luke Cage, Iron Fist, Defenders, and The Punisher all shared a varied amount of popularity within the Marvel fanbase. That said, as Disney seemingly left those stories behind, many worried that those stories would remain unfinished despite their popularity.

Luckily, with the slow rise of cameos from characters like Daredevil, aka Matthew Murdock in Spiderman: No Way Home, the public hopes for those series to return. Additionally, with the newly released series Echo bringing back Daredevil and his arch-nemesis Wilson Fisk, it’s only a matter of time before the other heroes return to the screen.

Fans can find the complete MCU chronological listing on Disney+, where Echo is currently streaming.


Join Our Mailing List

Recent Articles

Why indie cinema matters (Op-Ed)

Independent films are a shining example of genuine expression and artistic independence in the broad world of film. Unlike Hollywood blockbusters, which tend to stick

Hey! Are you enjoying NYCTastemakers? Make sure to join our mailing list for NYCTM and never miss the chance to read all of our articles!